top of page
Branch History
Middlesex County NAACP Branch History
Protecting the Vote - Defeat Hate - VOTE

In 1946 the Portland/Middletown NAACP Branch was formed by a group of concerned African Americans from both towns. Mr. Roosevelt Steele, a Portland resident, became the first president. The Branch thrived for a number of years taking a stand for the rights of African Americans during the early days of the civil rights movement. Earlier Presidents were: Mr. Charles Ghent, Mr. Roosevelt Steele, Sr., Rev. William Davage, and Captain Edward Jackson.


It was years later, when Captain Edward B. Jackson, retired member of the Middletown Police force and Mrs. Reba Moses, a Community Activist, met with Mr. Willie Walton to talk about forming a branch of the NAACP in Middletown. The group met with Mr. Benjamin Andrews, President of the CT State Conference of NAACP Branches. Notices were sent to all the black and other community churches inviting members to attend a meeting at the Idella Howell Daycare Center. There were 98 people who attended the meeting. Mr. Willie Walton became the first President of the re-established Middlesex County NAACP Branch. He served three terms as the President of the Middlesex County NAACP Branch and was responsible for the establishment of the Annual Martin Luther King, Jr. Day celebration and formation of the Martin Luther King, Jr., Committee of Greater Middletown, Inc., in the City of Middletown under Mr. Richard Thompson, who was the Education Chair for the branch at that time. Rev. Mack Elder served as the committee’s first President. The committee later became a separate 501c3 entity under the leadership of its second President LillieMae Fitzpatrick.

One of the branch’s earliest issues, uniting the city residents, stemmed from the death of a homeless man who froze to death. Both black and white citizens came together and marched in protest over the lack of housing. The group demonstrated for three days. In the end, the Eddy Shelter and other shelters were opened in Middlesex County, and they remain to this day.


 In its earlier days, the branch published a “Watchdog” weekly paper under the editorship of James “CUP” Moody. The paper provided the community with information on politics and other important issues in the City of Middletown. The branch has advocated over the years on key issues such as economic development, education in encouraging academic excellence, healthcare and criminal justice impacting young black males.

The following individuals have served as President of the Middlesex County NAACP Branch since its e-establishment: Willie Walton, James Moore, Roland Cockfield, Debra Hopkins, David Roane, Faith M. Jackson, Timothy Franklin, Roxanne Aaron-Selph, Rosa Browne, and currently serving Faith M. Jackson. Faith Jackson is the only returning President to this position after twenty (20) years to lead and train new leadership for the Middlesex County NAACP Branch.

The Middlesex County NAACP Branch serves the following towns:
CT map-01.png




Deep River


East Hampton



East Haddam





Old Saybrook



bottom of page